Frozen Review – Spoilers!

FROZN_014M_G_ENG-GB_70x100.indd

I went to see Frozen last week, and although I was really looking forward to it, and loved the trailer, I was a bit worried, because… well, I’m 17, and Disney films haven’t been quite how I remember them. Even the old Disney films haven’t been as good as I remember them being – I watched Peter Pan last night, and I couldn’t fathom why I loved it so much when I was younger! 2010’s Tangled was the last Disney film I watched that I loved, and after seeing the trailer for Frozen, I thought “This could be a really good film!” And then I thought “But it reminds me a lot of Tangled… What if it just turns out to be a complete rip–off?” So yes, I was a little bit worried.

But as it turns out, I had nothing to worry about. From beginning to end, I was completely entranced and I loved the whole thing. I’m genuinely unsure as to whether or not the beginning was supposed to be really quite emotional, but I had tears in my eyes for quite a while! It was so sweet watching Elsa creating the indoor winter wonderland for her and Anna, but when she slipped and hit her by mistake, a lot that happened after that made me a bit teary! It made me quite sad that Anna had to forget all about Elsa’s magic, but that was nothing compared to how upset I got when Elsa shut Anna out completely, so that she wouldn’t learn about her power or get hurt. I felt the song “Do You Want To Build a Snowman?” really added to the emotions and atmosphere, especially when combined with the way you see the sisters (well, Anna at least, because you don’t see Elsa) getting older and farther apart.

One of the things I really like about Frozen is the fact that it’s not a conventional Disney film. Most, if not all, of their films with princesses and castles etc., include an evil step–mother, or some form of evil family member. But in Frozen, Elsa doesn’t cast this eternal winter over Arendelle because she wants to; in fact she doesn’t even know she’s done it. She’s run away on her coronation day, but that’s because her power has been discovered and it’s got out of her hands (literally!) and the public don’t react well to it; they’re afraid, yes, but so is she. As much as I was sad that she ran off, and didn’t stop for Anna, I absolutely love her song “Let It Go”. It’s brilliant, and Idina Menzel’s voice is simply stunning. Listening to it, it’s great, but when you hear it in the film, with the visual effects alongside… I just can’t think of a word to describe how beautiful and amazing it is. Needless to say, I’ve had it in my head for the rest of the day, and I’ve been listening to it on repeat for the past half hour!

And another Disney film similarity is the fact that there’s almost always either a conflict with who they’re going to fall in love with, or the future of them/their kingdom rests on their true love’s kiss. But again, this is all different in Frozen. Okay, Anna is falling in love with Prince Hans, and they have their “Love Is an Open Door” song, and yes, we’re introduced to Kritoff who is definitely falling in love with Anna, but they’re not the main focus. I loved the fact that you’re led to believe throughout that Anna will think her “true love’s kiss” will be from Prince Hans, but if you’re anything like me you’ll be positive that it’s really Kristoff who saves her… But in actual fact, both assumptions are wrong. When Hans admits to Anna that he never loved her at all and was just using her, I was stunned – that is not something Disney! Don’t get me wrong, I thought it was great, it was just totally unexpected. Naturally, after that you can just tell that it’s going to be Kristoff who, on his way back to her, will be the one she realises she loves and he’ll be the one to kiss her and save her – and again, Disney lead it up to be like that. But at the last moment, Anna sees her sister Elsa about to be killed by Hans and she rushed over to save her… and turns to a statue of ice. I don’t know about anyone else who’s seen this, but I was pretty convinced that Kristoff was still going to try and kiss the statue to see if he could bring her back. Of course, that didn’t happen, but what did happen was that Elsa, distraught that her own magic had caused this to happen, hugged her and cried, causing Arendelle to lose the eternal winter – and also unfreezing Anna! Now, I knew it was going to happen, Anna surviving, but the manner in which it was done was fab. Nobody said that it had to be a true love’s kiss; it was just assumed that “an act of true love” would be the kiss. But no, it was the love that Anna had for Elsa (and vice versa) that saved Anna and Arendelle. And I thought that was a really, really cleverly done twist and I’m so glad that Disney went in that direction, rather than going in the typical and predictable route that their films so often go down.

The characters were also really likeable – I really felt sorry for Elsa, and I don’t usually end up sympathising with characters so much. Anna and Kristoff were also great, and I loved the dialogue they both had. But the real star of the film for was… Olaf the snowman. He was brilliant and I feel he really made the film so much more of an enjoyable experience. I absolutely loved his song, but my favourite of all his lines was, without a doubt, “Some people are worth melting for”. It was just so sweet!

Disney’s songs have also been slowly improving – I absolutely loved the music in Tangled, and indeed loved that entire film, but Frozen… Well, that just blew Tangled and its music completely out of the water. Honestly, the singing (especially Idina Menzel’s Let It Go) was just phenomenal and the lyrics and tunes were fantastic. I’m definitely going to have to invest in the soundtrack (and the score) at some point because I thoroughly enjoyed it all and it really made the film such a great experience.

Now, those of you who’ve not seen Frozen yet, go and do so! It’s a brilliant film, and so funny too – even my 15 year old brother, who doesn’t like anything Disney and never communicates with anyone, was laughing and thought it was great! I’ll be going back to see it again during the holidays, and I feel pre-ordering the film might be in order too!

Leave a comment

Filed under Film and TV Reviews

Leave a Reply

