Flash Fiction Friday: The Bank Robbery

You are a customer lying face down on the floor during a bank robbery. Describe the robbery from this vantage point.


Right now, all I can think about is how this floor needs a right good clean – perhaps I ought to mention it to the manager? The sudden sound of a single gun shot, followed by screams, instantly jolts me back to the current situation, and I remember why I’m so close to the floor in the first place. I had just been about to leave the bank when the masked men burst in, brandishing guns. One had pushed me aside, which is partly how I ended up on the ground (they were yelling at everyone to get down too), and my shopping went everywhere – there’s a tin of custard still rolling along the floor.

So far the men haven’t hurt anyone (at least, not that I can see), but even I can tell that the manager is taking too long to get the money from the safe, and the men are getting impatient. In fact, they’re threatening him – us – again now, saying if he doesn’t hurry up they’re going to start shooting randomly. I can hear the sound of footsteps clacking off the floor; they’re getting closer to me, and oh god someone has grabbed my arm. They’re pulling me to my feet and I can’t do anything, and nobody is helping they’re too scared they don’t want to get hurt, I don’t blame them but I’m so scared and now I can feel the fun pressed to my temple oh god I’m –


Yep, I think it’s safe to say I have a habit of killing people off! I’m hoping next week’s will be a little more cheerful, and possibly even without a death! :O

Leave a comment

Filed under Flash Fiction Friday

Leave a Reply

