“The Maze Runner” Film Review (Spoilers)

The Maze Runner

I’m a terrible person – I went to see The Maze Runner today. And I’ve never read the books. I own them, but I don’t think they’ve ever been taken out the box, mostly because a friend recommended them to me, I bought them, then he said they weren’t very good (no, I don’t know how it works either) so I didn’t ever get round to reading them. I saw the trailer and thought it looked  alright, but decided I was unlikely to see it in cinemas because I don’t like seeing films if I’ve not read the books beforehand – and that’s why I’m a terrible person, because that’s exactly what I did. To justify my actions slightly, it was a last minute decision. I met up with a friend, and as we were playing darts we decided to go to the cinema, and The Maze Runner was the only decent–sounding film showing anywhere. She wanted to see it because she thought some of the guys in it were cute (namely Newt and Thomas), whereas I wanted to see it because it was based on a book. Priorities, huh?

I wasn’t too sure what to expect, as I had no real idea what it was about and although I thought the trailer was alright, I didn’t think it looked all that great. I knew it would either be a hit or a miss (and honestly, I was going with miss!), but as it turns out I was pleasantly surprised. It was a pretty good story and the acting was quite good too – there were predictable moments, as there are in all films, one of the main ones being towards the end where Chuck jumped in front of Thomas when Gally went to shoot him. But that didn’t bother me too much, as the film was overall very good.

The attention to detail and basically just common sense was something I was very impressed by – these kids were covered in dirt and scrapes, and they stayed covered in dirt and scrapes. They weren’t beautifully presented all the time, which some films like to do, and one of my favourite things was just Teresa’s hair. It was visibly tangled and wasn’t perfectly kept – she really looked the part. I may have got a huge grin on my face when I first saw her, played by Kaya Scodelario, on the screen – she played Effy Stonem in the TV show Skins and I kind of love her. Her presence really bumped up the film for me! I know she was the only girl there, and I’m assuming the reasoning behind that is mentioned later in the series, but I was somewhat surprised that nobody seemed to notice the lack of female figures? I was half–expecting Thomas to notice or bring it up at some point, because surely if you find yourself surrounded in a strange place surrounded only by guys, you might think there’s something strange about that? I was hoping someone might cotton onto it when Teresa arrived, even Teresa herself, but apparently not…

I also loved that there was no romantic subplot! At least, not yet… I’ll need to read the series and find that out. I find it’s quite uncommon to find a film aimed at teens and based on a Young Adult book that doesn’t have at least the underlying romance, and even if it does begin to surface in later books/films, I don’t think I’ll mind too much because it wasn’t forced in our faces from the beginning. This didn’t need romance, and I’m glad the author didn’t think it was necessary to add it in just for the sake of it – though if we end up with a bloody love triangle, I’ll be pretty annoyed because that’s even less necessary!

The music in the film was also really fitting, and I’ve been listening to it non–stop since I got home. I really love soundtracks, and often find they can make or break a film – I’m pretty sure that the main reason I love The King’s Speech so much is because of the music in it. And the music in this film is just great; I’ve never heard of the composer before, but I think he’s done a great job of making music that fits the film. There was one part in particular which just took my breath away, but unfortunately all I can remember of the scene it was played during is that they were running through (I think) a tunnel – I guess that means I’ll have to get the DVD when it’s out so that I can hear and see it again!

One of the things I was really unsure about was the maze itself. In all the posters I’ve seen advertising it and in the trailer, I couldn’t help but think that it looked a bit too made–up, almost out of place. However, the more I saw it in the film, the more I started to like it – and the vines hanging from it really added something and looked so good. I never knew that the maze moved, so that was a bit of a surprise to me. I did wonder why nobody thought to jam the doors though, especially in the scene where Minho is trying to drag Alby towards them – they had huge, thick sticks lying next to them, why not jam them in the mechanics and try and buy the guys some time?! And why Thomas left it to the last minute to run through to them I do not know, what did he think was going to happen?!

That aside, I found The Maze Runner to be an overall very enjoyable film and it was far better than I expected it to be. In fact, it’s now tempted me to start the book, which I’m hoping is going to prove to be worthwhile!

Leave a comment

Filed under Film and TV Reviews

Leave a Reply

